Unified Champion Schools

What is Unified Champion Schools?

Unified Champion Schools (formerly Project Unify) brings youth with and without intellectual disabilities together through education and sports and related initiatives that provide them with knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to create and sustain school communities that promote acceptance, respect, and human dignity for all students. 

UCS is dedicated to promoting social inclusion through planned and implemented activities affecting systems-wide change that provide a quick path to friendship and understanding.

"To have the greatest impact the change process needs to start with young people."

The 3 Components of Unified Champion Schools

1. Inclusive Sports & Fitness

Provides students opportunities to participate in sports activities alongside one another, which is the most conducive way for breaking down stereotypes – Unified Sports, unified physical education and intramurals, inclusive Young Athletes.

2. Leadership & Advocacy

Provides students opportunities to take on leadership roles in promoting UCS activities in the school and in the community – Partners Club, Youth Activation Committees, Youth Summits.

3. Whole School Engagement

Provides opportunities for all students in the school to participate in UCS through school-wide activities – R-word Campaign, Fans in the Stands, Pep Rallies, Pledge and Plunge.

UCS Newsletters

For more information or to get involved contact Julie Briggs at 605.331.4117 or jbriggs@sosd.org.

More Information and Resources about UCS